Only 12 km from Uzhhorod stands on the hill dilapidated, but still picturesque Nevytsky Castle, first mentioned in the early 15th century.
In 1241, it was destroyed by the Mongol-Tatar’s hordes, but, in the second half of the 13th century, it was restored. The castle, towering over the Uzh River, was the mighty citadel of the Drugeth family which supervised its continuous modernisation over the centuries. The keep, rebuilt in its present form in the early 16th century, passed from hand to hand during the internecine strife that convulsed Hungary in the early 17th century.
With the development of firearms, the castle was constantly improved and reconstructed, and received its final form in the beginning of the 16th century. In 1644, it was captured and destroyed by Gyorgy Rakoczy, an important Hungarian nobleman and Prince of Transylvania.
Since then, the castle was not restored and reached our times in the form of picturesque ruins. In the 1960s the castle had a little restoration, but since then it has gradually destroyed. From day to day a wooden roof of the main tower – the symbol of the Transcarpathian region should fall.
Despite the destruction, the castle still looks exactly like a castle. This is clearly seen from above.
The castle is easily accessible by car. By bus from Uzhhorod in the direction of Kamenica from the bus station #2 on Fedintsa str, 61. There are a lot of buses, travel time is 15 minutes. Ask to stop near the turn to the castle (“zamok”), and go 10 minutes up on foot. Access to the castle is free.